Wednesday, October 20, 2021

12.00 ET | 17.00 BST | 18.00 CET

Live on the Cundill History Prize YouTube channel and streaming on-site and online at Frankfurt Book Fair

For this special event – revealing the three finalists for the leading international history prize – 2021 Chair of the Jury Michael Ignatieff will be joined by one of the world’s most distinguished historians, Margaret MacMillan.

Celebrated broadcaster and History Hit host Dan Snow will discuss with the pair how relevant the best new history writing is for some of today’s most challenging issues – and Ignatieff will announce the three 2021 finalists as part of the event.

About Michael Ignatieff

Born in Canada, educated at the University of Toronto and Harvard, Michael Ignatieff is a university professor, writer and former politician. His major publications are The Needs of Strangers (1984), Scar Tissue (1992), Isaiah Berlin (1998), The Rights Revolution (2000), Human Rights as Politics and Idolatry (2001), The Lesser Evil: Political Ethics in an Age of Terror (2004), Fire and Ashes: Success and Failure in Politics (2013), and The Ordinary Virtues: Moral Order in a Divided World (2017). Between 2006 and 2011, he served as an MP in the Parliament of Canada and then as Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada and Leader of the Official Opposition. He is a member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada and holds thirteen honorary degrees. Between 2012 and 2015 he served as Centennial Chair at the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs in New York. Between 2014 and 2016 he was Edward R. Murrow Chair of Press, Politics and Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School.

About Margaret MacMillan

Chair of the Jury for the 2017 Cundill History Prize, Margaret MacMillan (Toronto and Oxford) is professor of History at the University of Toronto and an emeritus professor of International History at Oxford University. She was Provost of Trinity College, Toronto from 2002-7 and Warden of St Antony’s College, Oxford from 2007-2017. She is currently a trustee of the Imperial War Museum. Her research specializes in British imperial history and the international history of the 19th and 20th centuries. Publications include War: How Conflict Shaped Us, Paris, 1919, and The War that Ended Peace. She gave the CBC’s Massey lectures in 2015 and the BBC’s Reith Lectures in 2018. Awards include the Samuel Johnson prize for non-fiction and the Governor-General’s literary award. She has honorary degrees from several universities and is an honorary Fellow of the British Academy. She is also a Companion of the Order of Canada and a Companion of Honour (UK).

In Partnership With Fb X
In Partnership With History Hit New Logo
In Partnership With Lrc X
In Partnership With Fane X