Posted on March 24th, 2016

Timothy James Brook

Republic of China Chair, Department of History and Institute of Asian Research , University of British Columbia

Timothy Brook is a professor and writer on Chinese and world history at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. A native of Toronto and graduate of the University of Toronto, Brook moved from Toronto to become principal of St. John’s College at UBC in 2004, where he was named to the Republic of China Chair. He has also held positions at the University of Alberta (1984-86), Stanford University (1997-99), and the University of Oxford, where he was Shaw Professor of Chinese from 2007 to 2009.

John Darwin

Professor of Global and Imperial History; Director, Oxford Centre for Global History , University of Oxford

John Darwin is Professor of Global and Imperial History at Oxford University, Professorial Fellow of Nuffield College and Director of the Oxford Centre for Global History. He is a Fellow of the British Academy.  His recent publications include After Tamerlane: the global history of empire 1400-2000 (2007) which won the Wolfson Prize in History for 2008; The Empire Project: the rise and fall of the British World-system 1830-1970 (2009), which won the Trevor Reese Memorial Prize in 2010; and Unfinished Empire: the global expansion of Britain (2012). He is currently writing a book on the role of port cities in nineteenth century globalisation.  

David Frum

Senior Editor , The Atlantic

David Frum is a senior editor for The Atlantic and the author of eight books, including a history of the 1970s: “HOW WE GOT HERE.” He served as speechwriter and special assistant to President George W. Bush in 2001-2002.

Anna Porter

Co-founder , Key Porter Books

Anna Porter’s most recent books are Buying a Better World: George Soros and Billionaire Philanthropy, The Ghosts of Europe, winner of the Shaughnessey Cohen Prize for Political Writing. Kasztner’s Train, the True Story of Rezso Kasztner, Unknown Hero of the Holocaust, winner of the 2007 Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Award and of the Jewish Book Award for Non-Fiction. She has also written three novels, a memoir, and numerous articles.

Anna Porter is co-founder of Key Porter Books, a company with a wide-ranging  list that included Farley Mowat, Joan Barfoot, Fred Bruemmer, Norman Jewison, Hume Cronyn, George Jonas, Margaret Atwood, The Right Honourable Jean Chretien, Sylvia Fraser, Modris Eksteins, Dennis Lee, John Keegan, Martin Gilbert, Irving Abella, Josef Skvorecky, Italo Calvino, William Trevor, Conrad Black and Janet Lunn. She sold majority interest in the company in 2004.

She is an Officer of The Order of Canada and has been awarded the Order of Ontario.