Latest news

2016 Cundill Prize

Posted on September 22nd, 2015

2016 Cundill Prize Winner is…

Thomas W. Laqueur- The Work of the Dead: A Cultural History of Mortal Remains (Princeton University Press)

The press release can be found here

2016 Cundill Prize Shortlist

  • Thomas W. Laqueur- The Work of the Dead: A Cultural History of Mortal Remains (Princeton University Press)
  • David Wootton- The Invention of Science: A New History of the Scientific Revolution (HarperCollins)
  • Andrea Wulf- The Invention of Nature: Alexander Von Humboldt’s New World (Alfred A. Knopf, John Murray Publishers)

The press release can be found here


The Cundill Prize in Historical Literature is offered each year to an individual who has published a book in English determined to have had, or likely to have, a profound literary, social and intellectual impact.  Administered by Montreal’s McGill University, the Cundill Prize recognizes outstanding works of non-fiction that are grounded in scholarly research while retaining wide appeal and interest to the general public.

Submissions are judged on their literary merits, their scholarship, and their contribution to historical understanding. The book submissions for the annual Cundill Prize in Historical Literature at McGill (which have been published between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2017) will be accepted from April 1, 2017 to May 31, 2017. The University will grant one Grand Prize of US$75,000 and two ‘Recognition of Excellence’ Prizes of US$10,000 each to the authors of the books written in English.

The Cundill Prize is the largest non-fiction history prize in the world. It warmly welcomes submissions on any historical period or subject, regardless of the nationality or place of residence of the author.

Submissions can be made on our website here

Submission guidelines can be viewed here